top of page
  • Otamere Guobadia

The LVMH Prize shortlist is here!

These 20 young designers made the cut.

Image via LVMH

Today LVMH announced the 2020 semi-finalists and judges for fashion's most prestigious accolade -- the eponymous LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers, which not only bestows the winner with a year-long money-can't-buy mentorship (as well as an eye-watering 300,000 euros) but catapults them (and often those shortlisted) into a frenzied fashion superstardom.

From an overwhelming 1,700 applications from designers of 110 different nationalities, just 20 have made the cut for the semi-finals. The shortlist of incendiary talents encompasses an incredibly broad offering, containing familiar names such as New York's Peter Do, as well as up and coming talent like South Africa's Sindiso Khumalo. Supriya Lele, Yuhan Wang, Ahluwalia and Vaqar also make the cut.

And for the first time ever Argentina is recognised on the list, with Nous Etudions by Buenos Aires-based Romina Cardillo representing.

The prize will be judged by a panel of fashion experts: a star-studded collection of some of the industry's biggest names, from Gigi Hadid to Edward Enninful. Also gracing the panel this year are activist Sinead Burke and i-D's own Fashion Editor-At-Large, stylist Ib Kamara.

In an industry increasingly aware of social justice issues but often plagued by a failure to progress in step with our collective consciousness, LVMH manage to ensure their relevance. As well as emphasising gender parity and sustainability, the 2020 prize marks a shift from recognising individual genius, to placing value on the collaborative nature that informs a realised vision. Delphine Arnault, Director and Executive Vice President of LVMH notes that "more and more designers are working in collectives, with six duos and one trio represented" in the competition.

"These initiatives speak to a growing awareness across the fashion and luxury sector, and reflect the values of environmentally conscious fashion," Delphine continued. "This fusion of savoir-faire and modernity, not to mention the originality of our semi-finalists’ collections, heralds a wonderful 2020 edition."

From this shortlist, the panel will now get down to the tough task of selecting a list of eight finalists, who will participate in the grand finale on 5 June 2020 at the Fondation Louis Vuitton. Check out the full list of future stars below:

Ahluwalia by Priya Ahluwalia, Alled-Martinez by Archie M., Area by Beckett Fogg and Piotrek Panszczyk, Casablanca by, Chopova Lowena by Emma Chopova and Laura Lowena, Commission by Jin Kay, Dylan Cao and Huy Luong, Ester Manas by Ester Manas and Balthazar Delepierre, Helmstedt by Emilie Helmstedt, Kaushik Velendra by Kaushik Velendra, Nicholas Daley by Nicholas Daley, Nous Etudions by Romina Cardillo, Peter Do by Peter Do, Piero D’Angelo by Piero D'Angelo, Rave Review by Josephine Bergqvist and Livia Schück, Samuel Guì Yang by Samuel Yang and Erik Litzén, Sindiso Khumalo by Sindiso Khumalo, Supriya Lele by Supriya Lele, Tomo Koizumi by Tomotoka Koizumi, Vaqar by Shirin Vaqar and Shiva Vaqar and Yuhan Wang by Yuhan Wang.

bottom of page